BDA hosts honours and awards ceremony

Janet Clarke MBE, BDA President, hosted the ceremony held in central London on Nov 24, said: ‘Our congratulations, and those of the BDTA, which has generously supported the occasion, go to all the winners. We are delighted to host these awards which celebrate excellence across the whole dental family. The ceremony was sponsored by the British Dental Trade Association,

800x600 Normal 0 false false false EN-GB X-NONE X-NONE MicrosoftInternetExplorer4 /* Style Definitions */ table.MsoNormalTable {mso-style-name:"Table Normal"; mso-style-parent:""; font-size:10.0pt;"Times New Roman","serif";}

Alongside the 18 individuals receiving recognition for their service, the ceremony also saw the entire dental team from Osborne Dental in Newcastle picking up the award for 2011 BDA Good Practice Scheme Good Practice of the Year. The practice was commended by judges for offering ‘an outstanding, patient centred service…with extraordinary leadership’.

Individual awards included: Kevin Lewis who attained the rare distinction of being made a BDA Honorary Member, a title which recognises long, exceptional and valuable service to the BDA, as well as personal commitment to the operation and welfare of the Association. A serving dentist for 30 years and author of two textbooks on dental practice management,

BDA Fellowship, which honours outstanding and distinguished service to the BDA and the dental profession, was awarded to Hew Matheson CBE and Graham Brown.

The John Tomes Medal, which recognises scientific eminence and outstanding service to the dental profession, was awarded to Professors Derrick Wilmot and Nairn Wilson CBE.

David Macaulay and Peter Frost were both awarded BDA Life Membership. The BDA Certificate of Merit for Services to the Profession was presented to Lance Hale, Russ Ladwa and Janet Speechley, whilst the BDA Certificate of Merit for Services to the Association was presented to Menna Lloyd. Andrew Lockhart-Mirams and Paul Langmaid CBE both had their names added to the BDA Roll of Distinction for outstanding service to UK dentistry.

The 2011 British Association of Dental Nurses Outstanding Contribution to Dental Nursing Award was presented to Fiona Ellwood. The Orthodontic National Group for Dental Nurses and Therapists’ Outstanding Contribution to Orthodontic Nursing Award was presented to Maureen Dickinson. Gail Marsh’s name was added to the British Association of Dental Therapists’ Roll of Distinction. Peter Davey received a Fellowship from the Dental Technologists Association and Terry Abbott was awarded the British Dental Trade Association Award.


You need to be logged in to leave comments.

Please do not re-register if you have forgotten your details,
follow the links above to recover your password &/or username.
If you cannot access your email account, please contact us.