DCP Committee formed at FGDP(UK)

Dental Care Professionals now have their own committee at the Faculty of General Dental Practice - FGDP(UK). The DCP Committee was established to build on the work undertaken by the previous DCP Advisory Board. Its role is to develop standards and educational opportunities in support of the dental team. It is chaired by Tony Griffin.

Tony Griffin said: “The establishment of this Committee will allow DCPs to have a stronger voice within the FGDP(UK), at a time when the regulatory and educational environment for DCPs continues to evolve.

As well as the need for high-quality professional development opportunities to support GDC requirements, DCPs also now have the opportunity to expand their scope of practice and there will be future needs when revalidation is introduced for the wider dental team. The Committee will support DCPs to meet new needs while setting standards that will support the best possible care for dental patients.”

On the Committee are the following representatives:

John Stanfield Dental hygienist

Bill Sharpling Clinical dental technician

Janet Goodwin Dental nurse

Geraldine McGlynn Dental therapist

Carol Bentley Orthodontic therapist

Ian Taylor Dental technician

The DCP Committee also includes nominated representatives from the FGDP(UK) Board, Faculty of Dental Surgery and FGDP(UK) Lay Advisory Group.


You need to be logged in to leave comments.

Please do not re-register if you have forgotten your details,
follow the links above to recover your password &/or username.
If you cannot access your email account, please contact us.

Mastodon Mastodon