New members appointed to GDC

New members appointed to GDC

The GDC has announced the names of six new members of the Council, of which four are lay and two registrant. The appointments have been confirmed by the Privy Council. The new Council members take up their posts on 1 October. The GDC has thanked outgoing Council members - Alan MacDonald, David Smith, Jayendra Patel, Neil Stevenson and Rosemary Carter.

The new members are:

  • Anne Heal, lay member
  • Crispin Passmore, lay member
  • Caroline Logan, dental technician, three-year term
  • Jeyanthi John, dentist, four-year term
  • Sheila Kumar, lay member
  • Terry Babbs, lay member

Margaret Kellett and Catherine Brady, both dentist registrant members, have both been appointed for a second term of office; Margaret for a three and Catherine for a four-year term.

William Moyes, GDC Chair, said:

"The field of applicants was very strong and I would like to thank those that took the time to apply. It was not an easy choice, but I am confident that the right mix of skills and experience have been appointed to oversee the work of the GDC as we face new challenges ahead. The future of dental regulation is dependent upon the GDC, dental professionals, patients, and our other partners engaging more effectively and supporting and encouraging new ways of dealing with issues and concerns that arise in dentistry. I look forward to working with my colleagues on the Council and executive to achieve our vision of a model of dental regulation that is rebalanced towards stronger promotion of standards and less reliance on enforcement." 

From 1st October, the full list of GDC Council members will be as follows:

  • William Moyes, lay, chair
  • Anne Heal, lay
  • Crispin Passmore, lay
  • Geraldine Campbell, lay
  • Sheila Kumar, lay
  • Terry Babbs, lay
  • Jeyanthi John, dentist
  • Caroline Logan, dental technician
  • Catherine Brady, dentist
  • Kirstie Moons, dental nurse
  • Lawrence Mudford, dentist
  • Margaret Kellett, dentist 

You need to be logged in to leave comments.

Please do not re-register if you have forgotten your details,
follow the links above to recover your password &/or username.
If you cannot access your email account, please contact us.